Shop Storage

Can a Table Saw and Dust Collector Share a 15 Amp Circuit?

No. A 14 to 16 A saw plus a 7 to 12 A collector or shop vac sums to 21 to 28 A, 140 to 187 percent of a 15 A breaker, and a 15 A saw alone is over the NEC's 12 A cap for one plug-in load.

Key takeaways

  • NEC 210.23 caps any one cord-and-plug load on a multiple-outlet 15 A circuit at 80 percent, 12 A. A 15 A jobsite saw is over that before the collector is plugged in. On a 20 A circuit the cap is 16 A, and every saw here passes.
  • Every saw and extractor pair here sums to 21 to 28 A. That is over a 15 A circuit in every case and over a 20 A circuit in every case, so no pairing fits either one.
  • A 15 A breaker at 26 A is at 173 percent. UL 489 asks only that it trip within one hour at 135 percent and within two minutes at 200 percent, so a cut of a minute or two can finish first.
  • A 20 A breaker carrying a 15 A saw and an 11 A collector is at 130 percent, under the 135 percent point, where the standard sets no trip time at all.
  • Not tripping is not the same as fine. The breaker protects the building wire, not the cords, the receptacle or the motors, and Grizzly says circuit sizes in its manuals assume one machine running at a time.

Two answers circulate. One says it works, because plenty of people do it and the breaker holds. The other says it cannot, because 15 plus 11 is 26. The arithmetic is right. The anecdote is also real, because a breaker is a heat-and-time device whose curve allows a short overload. Below, five saws and five extractors are paired, summed, and placed on the trip points the breaker standard actually sets.

The 80 percent cap: one saw is already over it

The rule is in NEC 210.23, "Permissible Loads, Multiple-Outlet Branch Circuits". In the 2023 edition it sits at 210.23(B)(1), "Cord-and-Plug-Connected Equipment Not Fastened in Place", under "(B) 15- and 20-Ampere Branch Circuits". The 2020, 2017 and 2014 editions number the same provision 210.23(A)(1): the 2023 edition inserted a new (A) and moved the rest down a letter. The wording has been stable for decades. The 1999 code, as quoted in a task group's proposal to NFPA, reads: "The rating of any one cord- and plug-connected utilization equipment shall not exceed 80 percent of the branch-circuit ampere rating."

Circuit80 percent cap for one plug-in load15 A saw16 A saw
15 A, multiple outlets12 AOver by 3 AOver by 4 A
20 A, multiple outlets16 APassesPasses, exactly at the cap

So the headline question fails on the saw alone: a 15 A jobsite saw on a 15 A circuit that feeds other receptacles is over 210.23 by 3 A. The cap is per item, not a total. It does not let a 20 A circuit carry a 16 A saw and a 12 A collector; the total is limited by the breaker.

The same 1999 submittal shows why saws are built to their plug's full rating anyway. Its table lists power tools among equipment using plugs at 100 percent of the plug rating, as intermittent duty, against continuous duty for vacuum cleaners and air compressors. A 15 A saw on a 15 A plug is normal. What 210.23 limits is a 15 A circuit that other loads share.

What the saws and the extractors draw

Five 120 V saws, from two jobsite saws to two 2 HP hybrids, with the current each maker prints:

SawTypeRated currentAtCircuit the maker asks for
DeWalt DWE7491RSJobsite15 A120 Vnot stated on the product page
SawStop JSS-120A60Jobsite15 A120 Vnot stated on the product page
SawStop PCS1751.75 HP cabinet14 A120 Vnot stated on the product page
Grizzly G0771Z2 HP hybrid15 A120 V20 A minimum
Grizzly G0833P2 HP hybrid16 A115 V20 A minimum

Grizzly is the only maker here that prints a circuit for a 120 V saw, and both figures are 20 A, consistent with the 12 A cap. Its 15 A G0771Z draws the same as the two jobsite saws.

And five extractors:

ExtractorTypeRated currentAtNotes
Grizzly G1163P1 HP portable collector7 A120 V15 A circuit
Festool CT 26 EIHEPA extractor10 A, from 1,200 W120 Vpower 350 to 1,200 W
Jet DC-1100VX1.5 HP collector11 A115 V5.5 A at 230 V
Grizzly G1028Z21.5 HP collector12 A120 V15 A minimum, NEMA 5-15 plug
Shop-Vac 825260516 gal, 6.5 peak HP vac12 A120 V150 CFM

Festool prints power, not current, so its 10 A is 1,200 W / 120 V. All five fit a 15 A circuit on their own, at or under 12 A.

Ignore a vacuum's horsepower. Shop-Vac's own sheet says "Shop-Vac motors do not operate at the peak horsepower shown." Its 12 A is the figure that loads the circuit.

Every pair, summed against 15 A and 20 A

Three saw currents against four extractor currents, as a share of each breaker:

SawExtractorSumShare of 15 AShare of 20 A
14 A7 A21 A140%105%
14 A10 A24 A160%120%
14 A11 A25 A167%125%
14 A12 A26 A173%130%
15 A7 A22 A147%110%
15 A10 A25 A167%125%
15 A11 A26 A173%130%
15 A12 A27 A180%135%
16 A7 A23 A153%115%
16 A10 A26 A173%130%
16 A11 A27 A180%135%
16 A12 A28 A187%140%

Worked for the Jet collector and a jobsite saw: (15 + 11) / 15 = 1.73.

The lightest pair, a 14 A saw and the 7 A Grizzly G1163P, is 21 A: over 15 A by 6 A and over 20 A by 1 A. Not one combination fits either circuit. On 120 V, a table saw and a dust collector are two circuits' worth of load.

Why the breaker often holds anyway

A residential breaker has two trip mechanisms, and neither opens at the rating. Goodson, Hergenrether and Stateson, in Fire and Arson Investigator, list that belief first among breaker myths.

The thermal element follows a time curve. UL 489, the standard residential breakers are listed to, sets three calibration points, as summarized by OptiFuse: hold at 100 percent of rating, trip within one hour at 135 percent (breakers of 50 A and under), and trip within two minutes at 200 percent (30 A and under). Goodson and co-authors give the same 135 and 200 percent points from NEMA AB-1, and add that "at even 5 percent above trip rating, there is no guarantee that the breaker will ever trip."

Read the sums above against those three points:

BreakerLoadShareWhat the standard requires
15 Aup to 20 Ato 133%nothing below 135%: no trip time set
15 A21 to 28 A (every pair above)140 to 187%trip within 1 hour
15 A30 A200%trip within 2 minutes
20 A21 to 26 A105 to 130%nothing below 135%: no trip time set
20 A27 to 28 A135 to 140%trip within 1 hour
20 A40 A200%trip within 2 minutes

No pair here reaches 200 percent of a 15 A breaker, so the standard's only requirement for every one of them is a trip within an hour. A 40 second rip can finish well inside that, and nothing is wrong with the breaker. On a 20 A breaker most pairs sit under 135 percent, where UL 489 sets no trip time at all.

Makers' published curves are usually faster than the standard allows, Goodson and co-authors note, so a real breaker at 173 percent will normally trip well inside the hour. Their Square D 30 A breaker at 60 A, 200 percent, tripped in 30 seconds at 20 F and 21 seconds at 69 F. A panel in a hot garage runs closer to its trip point, one reason the same pair can run in January and trip in July.

The full-load figure is a full-load figure. Grizzly defines full-load current as "the amperage a machine draws at 100% of the rated output power." A saw spinning between cuts is not at rated output, so the sum is the moment both machines work at full load together. Grizzly adds the other side: it "is not the maximum amount of amps that the machine will draw," and an overloaded machine draws more, as in a slow rip through thick hardwood.

The starting surge, and why starting order matters

A motor draws far more than its running current for the moment it starts. Honda's generator catalog lists a 10 in table saw at 4,500 W approximate starting wattage against 1,800 W running. Divided by 120 V, that is 4,500 / 120 = 37.5 A at start, 2.5 times the 15 A rating, if the starting load is drawn at 120 V.

That surge mostly meets the breaker's other mechanism. The magnetic, or instantaneous, element responds to large currents with no intentional delay. Goodson and co-authors stress that NEMA AB-1 "does not specify a required magnetic trip level", so each maker sets its own. One example they describe is a 20 A breaker with an instantaneous trip level of 180 A. Against that example:

MomentCurrentShare of 180 A instantaneous level
Saw starts alone, collector off37.5 A21%
Saw starts while an 11 A collector runs48.5 A27%

A saw start is far below the magnetic trip in that example and, if brief, over before the thermal curve acts. That is the second reason a shared circuit often survives.

Starting both motors at once stacks two surges. No collector maker here prints a starting current, but the order is free: start the collector, let it reach speed, then start the saw. The same applies on a generator, where the generator guide for a 15 amp table saw sizes the saw at 4,500 starting watts. Add the Jet collector running at 11 x 120 = 1,320 W and the generator needs 5,820 W at the saw's start, if the collector is already on.

Not tripping is not the same as safe

A breaker that holds is not a verdict on the load. Three things carry the 26 A that the breaker is not watching:

  • The cords. A residential breaker "is not intended to protect load wiring such as extension cords or appliance line cords," Goodson and co-authors write. The extension cord gauge guide quotes the makers' rule to add the nameplate amps of every tool on one cord, and finds a 21 A load covered by no table at any length. A tool-triggered outlet on a vac puts both currents through the vac's cord and one wall receptacle.
  • The receptacle. A 15 A receptacle carrying 26 A is over its rating whether or not the breaker opens.
  • The motors. Both motors see the voltage drop of both loads in the same wire, and that drop grows with current.

Grizzly's circuit sizes apply to a dedicated circuit, "where only one machine will be running on the circuit at a time." For a shared circuit, Grizzly says to consult an electrician.

What actually works

Two circuits. Saw on one 20 A circuit, collector on another. Every pair here fits: 14 to 16 A on the saw's circuit, under its 16 A cap, and 7 to 12 A on the collector's, under even a 15 A circuit's 12 A cap. A garage already needs at least one 20 A receptacle circuit under the NEC, as covered in garage shop layout, and that guide's advice to plan dedicated circuits before the wall system goes up applies to a collector as much as to a compressor, the other motor whose demand is set out in whether a bigger compressor tank gives more CFM.

Move the collector to 240 V. The Jet DC-1100VX draws 5.5 A at 230 V and the Grizzly G1028Z2 6 A at 240 V, half their 120 V current, on a separate double-pole circuit. That frees the 120 V circuit for the saw, and it is the same kind of run worked out in what size breaker and wire a 3 HP table saw needs.

A collector on a cart can roll to whichever circuit is free, the trade-off weighed in mobile workbenches against tool carts.

Where this answer stops applying

  • 240 V machines. Every figure above is 120 V.
  • An individual circuit to one single receptacle. 210.23 is written for multiple-outlet branch circuits, and this page does not cover the single-receptacle case.
  • Other breaker types. GFCI and AFCI breakers add their own trip functions. Power strip breakers are thermal only, with no magnetic trip level.
  • Local amendments and your breaker's curve. Local codes may differ, and a real breaker's curve is usually faster than the standard's limits.
  • Published figures only. The currents are the makers' ratings. No saw, collector or breaker was run for this page.

The thirty-second check

  1. Read the amps on the saw and on the collector or vac, and add them.
  2. Compare the sum with the breaker. Any table saw and any extractor on this page sum to more than 20 A.
  3. Check the saw alone against 80 percent of its circuit: 12 A on 15 A, 16 A on 20 A. A 15 A saw needs the 20 A circuit.
  4. Put the collector on a second circuit, or on 240 V. Start the collector first, then the saw.
  5. If the breaker holds anyway, that is the time curve at work, not a load within the circuit.

Frequently asked questions

Can I plug a table saw and a shop vac into the same outlet?

Not on a 15 A circuit by the numbers. A 15 A saw and a 12 A Shop-Vac 8252605 add to 27 A, 180 percent of the breaker. On a 20 A circuit the same pair is 135 percent. The two halves of an ordinary duplex receptacle share one circuit, so plugging into the other half changes nothing.

Why doesn't my breaker trip when I run my saw and dust collector together?

Because a breaker trips on a time curve, not at its rating. UL 489 requires a 15 A breaker to hold at 15 A, trip within an hour at 135 percent and within two minutes at 200 percent. A 26 A combined load is 173 percent, and a cut that lasts under a minute can finish before the thermal element opens.

Can a 15 amp table saw go on a 15 amp circuit?

On a circuit with other outlets, the 2023 NEC caps any one cord-and-plug load at 80 percent of the circuit, 12 A on 15 A. A 15 A saw exceeds it. On a 20 A circuit the cap is 16 A, so a 15 A saw passes, and Grizzly's 15 A G0771Z asks for a 20 A circuit at 120 V.

Does a dust collector need its own circuit?

Every 120 V collector here, 7 to 12 A, fits the 12 A cap of a 15 A circuit on its own, and Grizzly's 1 and 1.5 HP collectors list a 15 A minimum circuit. What none of them fits is a circuit already running a 14 to 16 A saw. Two circuits, one per machine, is the arrangement every sum here points to.

What size circuit do I need for a table saw and dust collector together?

The largest pair here, a 16 A saw and a 12 A collector, sums to 28 A, more than any 120 V general-purpose circuit. Two 20 A circuits, one for the saw and one for the collector, cover every pair on this page. A 240 V collector draws half the current of its 120 V rating.

Is it OK if the breaker only trips sometimes?

No. A breaker that trips sometimes is a load that is over the circuit's rating every time, and the breaker is deciding by heat and time. Goodson and co-authors note that just above the rating there is no guarantee a breaker will ever trip, which is a reason to fix the load, not to rely on the breaker.

Sources and references

  1. UpCodes, NFPA 70 (2023) 210.23(B)(1), Cord-and-Plug-Connected Equipment Not Fastened in Place Places the rule at 210.23(B)(1) under 210.23 Permissible Loads, Multiple-Outlet Branch Circuits, (B) 15- and 20-Ampere Branch Circuits in the 2023 edition, and at 210.23(A)(1) in the 2020, 2017 and 2014 editions
  2. NFPA, Form for proposals for the 2002 National Electrical Code, 1999 NEC Section 210-23(a), task group submittal (hosted by CPSC) 1999 code wording that the rating of any one cord- and plug-connected utilization equipment shall not exceed 80 percent of the branch-circuit ampere rating; substantiation table listing power tools at 100 percent of plug rating, intermittent duty
  3. Open Exam Prep, Branch circuit ratings and sizing study guide (Idaho electrician, 2023 NEC) 80 percent rule examples, 12 A on a 15 A circuit and 16 A on a 20 A circuit; 50 percent limit for fastened-in-place equipment
  4. OptiFuse, UL circuit breakers (UL 489 and UL 1077 test parameters) UL 489 calibration, 100 percent of rating hold, 135 percent trip in one hour (50 A and under), 200 percent trip in 2 minutes maximum (30 A and under)
  5. Goodson, Hergenrether and Stateson, Circuit breaker myths, Fire and Arson Investigator, October 2007 135 and 200 percent trip points per NEMA AB-1; no guarantee of tripping just above rating; NEMA AB-1 specifies no magnetic trip level; a 20 A breaker with a 180 A instantaneous level; Square D 30 A breaker at 60 A tripping in 30 s at 20 F and 21 s at 69 F; breakers do not protect cords
  6. Grizzly, G0771Z and G0833P hybrid table saw owner's manuals; G1028Z2 and G1163P dust collector owner's manuals G0771Z 2 HP, 15 A at 120 V, 20 A minimum circuit; G0833P 2 HP, 16 A at 115 V, 20 A minimum circuit; G1028Z2 1.5 HP, 12 A at 120 V, 15 A minimum circuit, NEMA 5-15; G1163P 1 HP, 7 A at 120 V, 15 A circuit; full-load current defined at 100 percent of rated output and not the maximum draw; circuit requirements apply to a dedicated circuit with one machine running at a time (G0833P, G1028Z2 and G1163P manuals at the same address)
  7. Toolnut, Jet DC-1100VX-5M dust collector kit (708658K) 1.5 HP, 115/230 V, 11/5.5 A, 1,100 CFM
  8. Shop-Vac, 16 gallon 6.5 peak HP wet/dry utility vacuum with SVX2 motor (8252605) spec sheet 120 V 60 Hz 12 A, 150 CFM; peak horsepower is not operational horsepower and Shop-Vac motors do not operate at it in actual use
  9. Toolnut, Festool CT 26 EI HEPA dust extractor (577871); SawStop JSS-120A60 and PCS175-PFA30 product pages CT 26 EI 120 VAC, 350 to 1,200 W; JSS-120A60 15 A, 120 V; PCS175 1.75 HP, 14 A, 120 V
  10. DeWalt, DWE7491RS 10 in jobsite table saw product page 15 amp motor, 120 V
  11. American Honda, Portable Generators catalog (2023) Table Saw, 10 inches, 4,500 W approximate starting and 1,800 W approximate running

Last reviewed and updated October 31, 2026. Figures on this page come from published specifications, standards and stated derivations. See how we analyze and our corrections policy.