Key takeaways
- DeWalt caps storage at 104 F (40 C), Makita's BL1830 data sheet at 113 F (45 C), and Milwaukee warns against anywhere that may exceed 120 F (50 C), naming vehicles.
- A parked car gained an average of 40 F in an hour on sunny 72 to 96 F days, so even a mild day breaks the strictest storage limit.
- Cold costs runtime and blocks charging but the loss comes back; heat costs capacity permanently.
- Charge between 50 and 104 F (10 and 40 C) to satisfy all three brands at once.
- None of the three manuals says to store at 40 to 50 percent charge, and DeWalt says to store the pack fully charged.
The short answer by situation
The three manuals agree on direction and differ on numbers, so the useful rule is the strictest number from each column. Store below 104 F (40 C), which is DeWalt's line. Charge between 50 and 104 F (10 and 40 C), which is the caution text Makita prints for the BL1830. Everything else on this page is why those two numbers, and where they stop applying.
| Situation | Verdict | The limiting number |
|---|---|---|
| Truck box or cab, parked in summer sun | No | Storage cap of 104 to 120 F, crossed within an hour |
| Truck box overnight, warm season, unloaded by mid morning | Acceptable on temperature | Night air is under every storage cap |
| Cold garage or truck box in winter, storage only | Yes | Makita allows storage to -22 F (-30 C) |
| Charging in a cold garage | Only above 50 F (10 C) | DeWalt refuses below 40 F, Makita's label says 50 F |
| Uninsulated metal shed or trailer in summer | No | DeWalt names both by type |
| Shelf near the ceiling of a garage | No | Hottest air in the room collects there |
| On the charger indefinitely, indoors | Allowed by Milwaukee, discouraged by DeWalt | See the charge level section below |
What the three manuals actually say
These figures come from the documents themselves, not from a retailer summary. The Milwaukee manual is the Australian M12 and M18 combo charger manual, the DeWalt text is the battery and charger section bundled in the North American DCF510 instruction manual, and the Makita figures are from the BL1830 Safety Data Sheet. Wording is quoted where it matters.
| Milwaukee M12 and M18 | DeWalt 20V MAX (DCF510 manual) | Makita 18V LXT (BL1830 SDS) | |
|---|---|---|---|
| Upper storage limit | "Do not store battery pack where temperatures may exceed 50 C (120 F) such as in direct sunlight, a vehicle or metal building during the summer" | "Do not store or use the tool and battery pack in locations where the temperature may reach or exceed 104 F (40 C) (such as outside sheds or metal buildings in summer)" | Store within -22 to 113 F (-30 to 45 C), and do not expose to 140 F (60 C) |
| Lower storage limit | Not stated as a number. "Store battery packs at room temperature away from moisture" | Not stated as a number. "Away from direct sunlight and excess heat or cold" | -22 F (-30 C) |
| Charging window | Not stated as a number. The charger flashes red quickly and will not charge a pack that is too hot or too cold | 40 to 104 F (4.5 to 40 C), with longest life between 65 and 75 F (18 and 24 C) | 32 to 104 F (0 to 40 C) in the handling section; caution text reads "charging room temp.: 10 C~40 C" (50 to 104 F) |
| Use (discharge) range | "Designed to operate in temperatures below freezing" | Covered by the same 104 F storage and use limit | -4 to 140 F (-20 to 60 C) |
| Charge level for storage | None given. "After about a year of storage, charge the pack as normal" | "Store the fully charged battery pack out of the charger" | None given |
| Left on the charger | "No battery pack damage will occur" if left plugged in, though unplugging is called best general practice | Can be left in or removed after charging, but storage advice is out of the charger | Not addressed |
| Extreme heat | Permanent capacity loss from long storage at high temperatures | Fire or temperature above 265 F (130 C) may cause explosion | Over 212 F (100 C) may cause heat generation and ignition |
Two details deserve a flag. Makita's data sheet carries two charging floors in the same document, 32 F in its handling section and 50 F in the reproduced caution text. Use 50 F, because it is the stricter of the two and costs nothing to follow. And Milwaukee's manual is the only one of the three that names a vehicle outright, which settles the question the title asks for that brand without any interpretation.
How hot a truck box and cab actually get
The storage limits only mean something against a real temperature. Two published measurements frame it.
A closed vehicle. A Stanford study published in Pediatrics in July 2005 (McLaren, Null and Quinn) measured a parked car on sunny days with highs from 72 to 96 F. The interior gained an average of 40 F within an hour, 80 percent of that rise came in the first half hour, and a cracked window had an insignificant effect on both the rate and the final temperature.
A dark horizontal surface in sun. The Department of Energy's cool roof guidelines, produced with Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory's heat island group, state that typical dark roofs absorb 90 percent or more of incoming solar energy and reach 150 F (66 C) or more in summer sun, and that a reflective roof in the same conditions can stay more than 50 F (28 C) cooler. The lid of a black powder coated or black polymer crossover box is a dark horizontal surface facing the sun, the same physics at a smaller scale.
Neither source measured the inside of a truck box, and no box manufacturer publishes interior temperatures, so there is no measured figure for the air under the lid. What can be said is that the box is a closed container whose top is at roof temperature, and a closed car cabin with no dark lid on it already gains 40 F.
So the answer for a truck in summer is the same regardless of brand: a pack parked in a sunny cab or a dark box on a warm day is over its storage limit by lunchtime. Box color and material change how far over. The reflectance argument in the cool roof data is why a bright aluminum box runs cooler than a black one, a difference covered alongside the structural trade-offs in aluminum vs steel vs polymer truck boxes.
Cold and heat do different kinds of damage
This is the distinction that most advice blurs. Cold is a performance problem that reverses. Heat is a lifespan problem that does not.
Cold. Battery University's charging notes explain that internal resistance rises in the cold, which noticeably lengthens charge times and noticeably affects discharge performance. That is the short runtime and the sluggish tool on a frozen morning. Milwaukee's manual describes the remedy: a cold pack may need to warm up, so run the tool in a light application and it may "buzz" briefly until it does. Once the pack is warm, the capacity is there again.
Charging cold is the exception. Battery University states that during a sub-freezing charge, metallic lithium plates on the anode, and that this leads to permanent degradation in performance and safety. That is why every charger here refuses a cold pack (DeWalt calls it a Hot/Cold Pack Delay) and why DeWalt's manual says not charging below 40 F "is important and will prevent serious damage to the battery pack." A cold garage is a fine place to keep batteries and the wrong place to keep the charger.
Heat. Milwaukee's manual says permanent capacity loss can result if a pack is stored for long periods at high temperatures. Battery University's storage table puts numbers on it: a lithium-ion cell stored for a year at 100 percent charge recovers 94 percent of its capacity at 32 F (0 C), 80 percent at 77 F (25 C), and 65 percent at 104 F (40 C). At 140 F (60 C) a full cell is down to 60 percent after only three months. That capacity does not come back when the pack cools.
Should batteries be stored at 40 to 50 percent?
The claim circulates because it is true at the cell level. Battery University's table shows a lithium-ion cell stored at 40 percent charge losing less than one stored full, at every temperature:
| Storage temperature | Recoverable after 1 year, 40% charge | Recoverable after 1 year, 100% charge |
|---|---|---|
| 32 F (0 C) | 98% | 94% |
| 77 F (25 C) | 96% | 80% |
| 104 F (40 C) | 85% | 65% |
| 140 F (60 C) | 75% | 60% after 3 months |
Read down the columns before reading across. Going from 100 to 40 percent charge at room temperature saves 16 points of capacity over a year. Going from 104 F to 32 F at full charge saves 29. Temperature is the bigger lever, and the same page says that finding the exact 40 to 50 percent level "is not that important."
None of the three manuals recommends a partial charge. DeWalt's says the opposite in plain words: store the pack fully charged and out of the charger. Milwaukee's gives no storage charge level, only that packs hold their charge in storage and should be charged as normal after about a year. Makita's data sheet is silent on it.
The two positions are not really in conflict, because they answer different questions. A manufacturer's manual is written for a pack that will be picked up next week, and a dead pack on a jobsite is the failure it guards against. The 40 percent figure is about months of storage, and its benefit is largest exactly where storage is warm. So:
- In regular use, follow the manual. Charged, off the charger, somewhere cool. The difference a partial charge makes over a few weeks is not worth a flat pack on Monday.
- For a seasonal layup of several months, leaving packs partly charged is cheap insurance that the cell data supports. Do it in a cool room, and check them before the year Milwaukee mentions is up.
- If you can only control one thing, control temperature. A full pack at 32 F loses less than a 40 percent pack at 104 F.
Where batteries should live
Treat the truck as transport, not storage. In the warm months, the packs come out of the box or cab at the end of the day and go somewhere that stays under 104 F. That is the same discipline insurers ask for on the tools themselves, since many policies restrict theft from an unattended vehicle overnight, as covered in tool theft prevention. One habit protects against both.
In the shop, height matters. Hot air stratifies, which is why batteries are on the do-not-store list in overhead garage storage safety. A shelf at bench height on an interior wall beats a ceiling rack, and both beat a metal shed, which DeWalt names specifically along with uninsulated trailers as places that keep a pack from cooling after use.
In winter the logic flips. Storage in an unheated garage or a truck box is within Makita's published range, so the packs can stay put. Charging is what moves indoors. If the charger lives in the garage, it needs a spot that stays above 50 F (10 C), or it will spend the winter in hot/cold delay mode, waiting. The same cold is working on the box itself: gas struts lose force as they chill, which is why a lid that holds in July drops in January, worked out in truck tool box gas strut sizing.
A gasketed modular box does not change any of this. An IP rating describes water and dust from outside, as explained in what IP54 and IP65 buy you. It says nothing about the temperature inside, and a sealed dark box in sun traps heat.
Where this guidance stops applying
- These are three specific documents. The Milwaukee manual is the Australian edition of the M12 and M18 charger manual, the DeWalt text comes from the manual for a 20V MAX sealed head ratchet, and the Makita figures are from a 2015 data sheet for one 18V pack. Other packs in the same families, especially high output and newer platforms, can carry different figures. Your own pack's manual overrides this table.
- The vehicle numbers are averages from one study. The 40 F rise was measured in a car cabin on sunny days between 72 and 96 F. It is a guide to scale, not a reading for your truck, and nobody has published a measured figure for the inside of a truck box.
- The capacity table is cell-level data for generic lithium-ion. It shows the direction and size of the effect. It is not a rating for any tool pack.
- Shade, color and ventilation all move the numbers. A white or bright aluminum box in a shaded lot is a different case from a black box on a south-facing tailgate. The storage limits do not move.
A one-minute checklist
- Is anywhere the pack sits likely to reach 104 F (40 C) today? A parked vehicle in sun, a metal shed, a dark box, a garage ceiling: if yes, move it.
- Is the pack below 50 F (10 C)? Do not charge it yet. Warm it somewhere dry, then charge.
- Did it come in from the cold into a humid room? Let it dry and warm before it goes on the charger.
- Will it sit unused for months? Store it cool, partly charged if you like, and charge it before a year has passed.
- In regular use, keep it charged, off the charger, and somewhere you would be comfortable sitting.